IoTA_Logo(2).png

Institute of Transport Administration

Educating Transport Management since 1944

News

New Traffic Commissioner for Northwest - David Mullan

12th Jul 2024

New transport ministers must act quickly on coach and bus tasks

10th Jul 2024

Police target hazardous goods movements

10th Jul 2024

Regulatory decisions about truck, bus and coach operator licences and safety standards

5th Jul 2024

Driver Conduct Hearings - outcomes

4th Jul 2024

View all news »

Strike Action - Driving examiner: March 2023

28 Feb 2023

Some driving tests might be affected by strike action at times during March 2023.

What types of tests might be affected

The strike action might affect:

  • car driving tests
  • motorcycle tests
  • **lorry, bus, coach and minibus driving tests (these are known as vocational tests)
  • tractor or specialist vehicle driving tests
  • approved driving instructor (ADI) part 2 (driving ability) or part 3 (instructional ability) tests
  • ADI standards checks
  • moped and motorcycle compulsory basic training (CBT) checks - but not the training courses themselves

The strike action will not affect theory tests.

Check link below for areas affected.

When the strikes will be held

The strikes will affect driving test centres in different parts of Great Britain at different times.

Dates

Areas affected

Monday 6 March and Tuesday 7 March

London and south-east England

Thursday 9 March and Friday 10 March

South-west England and Wales

Wednesday 15 March

All areas of Great Britain

Monday 20 March and Tuesday 21 March

East of England, East Midlands, West Midlands and parts of London

Thursday 23 March and Friday 24 March

North-west England and Yorkshire and the Humber

Monday 27 March and Tuesday 28 March

North-east England and Scotland

Further information:

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/driving-examiner-strike-march-2023?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=govuk-notifications-topic&utm_source=ac1b9c18-1d48-4cff-ab09-264e932c05c5&utm_content=immediately